At AOAs Optometrys Meeting, two optometrists were inducted into the National Optometry Hall of Fame: Edwin Marshall, O.D., vice president for diversity, equity and multicultural affairs and professor of optometry at the Indiana University College of Optometry, and Charles Mullen, O.D., former president of the Illinois College of Optometry. Also at the meeting, Deanna Alexander, O.D., of Fort Collins, Colo., was named AOAs Optometrist of the Year. The Young Optometrist of the Year Award went to Lillian Kalaczinski, O.D., of Grand Rapids, Mich. Dianna Sweet, of Howell, Mich., was named the AOAs Paraoptometric of the Year. The AOA Distinguished Service Award went to Michael Jones, O.D., of Athens, Tenn.


Alcon has discontinued development of anecortave acetate for the reduction of intraocular pressure associated with glaucoma. After a Phase 2 trial, the company determined that the amount of IOP reduction and the responder rate provided by even the highest dose were not sufficient to support this approach as a viable way to address the problem of patient compliance with eye drop therapy.


The FDAs Dermatologic and Ophthalmic Drugs Advisory Committee recommended the approval of Bepreve (bepotastine besilate 1.5%, ISTA Pharmaceuticals) for ocular itching associated with allergic conjunctivitis. The FDA is not required to follow the Committees guidance, but the Agency usually considers the Committees recommendation when evaluating pending applications.

Vol. No: 146:07Issue: 7/15/2009