ASCRS has established a new membership category that will enable certain optometrists to apply for membership to the organization for the first time. To be eligible for the membership, optometrists must be employed by an ASCRS member, board-certified ophthalmologist. The new category emphasizes a working partnership between ophthalmologists and optometrists and encourages arrangements in which employed optometrists––directed and overseen by ophthalmologists––provide a critical role in the delivery of non-surgical eye care.

On June 28 at Optometry’s Meeting in Chicago, the Optometric Historical Society will honor the life and contributions of Dr. Irvin Borish, considered by many as the father of modern optometry. Dr. Borish passed away at he age of 99 on March 3. Known as the architect of modern optometry, Dr. Borish authored the definitive reference text “Clinical Refraction,” and was named the most influential O.D. of the 20th century. The tribute to Dr. Borish will be led by his long-time friend, Alden N. Haffner, president emeritus of SUNY College of Optometry.

VSP Global elected Stuart J. Thomas, O.D., as chairman of the board for a term of two years. A practicing optometrist in Athens, Ga., for 28 years, Dr. Thomas has served on the VSP board of directors since 2005 and as vice chairman since 2010. “As a practicing independent optometrist, I look forward to leading the change and support efforts within VSP Global companies to further our mission and strengthen private practice with innovative technologies and programs supporting patient access,” he said.