In the NewsContact lenses coated with melamine, an anti-microbial peptide, may potentially reduce the risk of contact lens-related infections, according to a study published in Optometry and Vision Science. The researchers studied the peptide-coated lenses in both rabbits and humans, and compared them to conventional contact lenses.

The melamine-coated lenses exhibited similar wettability, comfort, lens fitting and corneal coverage to the conventional lenses. The only reported difference between the two modalities was increased corneal staining caused by the melamine-coated lenses. Further clinical trials are required to study the lens’ ability to reduce adverse events in extended wear. 

Following an unsolicited $45.7 billion bid from Valeant Pharmaceuticals Inc., Allergan Inc. has begun early discussions with companies such as Sanofi and Johnson & Johnson to gauge their interest in acquiring the pharmaceutical company. Allergan has yet to respond to Valeant’s offer, and is currently exploring all available options.

The University of Pikeville recently announced that Andrew Buzzelli, OD, MS, will be the Founding Dean of the Kentucky College of Optometry. Dr. Buzzelli is a member of the ASCO Board of Directors and currently serves as the Dean of the University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry. He will assume his new position in July.

The American Optometric Association (AOA) and Optometry Cares—The AOA Foundation have selected three members for the prestigious National Optometry Hall of Fame. Since 1998, the National Optometry Hall of Fame has recognized and honored optometrists who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to the optometric profession.

The 2014 inductees are:

Arol R. Augsburger, OD, of Chicago
Dr. Augsburger is president and professor of optometry at the Illinois College of Optometry. He was named Optometrist of the Year by the AOA in 1986, and received a Distinguished Service Award in 2008. He was also named Optometrist of the Year in Ohio in 1985, Alabama in 2000 and Illinois in 2007.

Ron Fair, OD, of Brighton, Colo.
Dr. Fair served as president of the AOA in 1976, the Colorado Optometric Association in 1968 and the National Academies of Practice from 1996 to 1999. He received a Distinguished Service Award in 2000 and was named the Colorado Optometric Association’s Optometrist of the Year in 1970.

Karla Zadnik, OD, PhD, of Worthington, Ohio
Dr. Zadnik is associate dean of the Ohio State University College of Optometry and Glenn A. Fry Professor in Optometry and Physiological Optics. She is immediate past president of the American Academy of Optometry. Additionally, Dr. Zadnik served the AOA’s Contact Lens and Cornea Section and received its Dr. Donald R. Korb Award for Excellence in 2009. She also received the Young Optometrist of the Year Award in 1989 from the California Optometric Association and the Distinguished Scholar Award from the Ohio State University in 2010.